AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community (https://acurazine.com/forums/)
-   3G TL Problems & Fixes (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-problems-fixes-114/)
-   -   White smoke coming from behind the engine? (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-problems-fixes-114/white-smoke-coming-behind-engine-749698/)

bdown62007 10-25-2009 05:58 PM

White smoke coming from behind the engine?

like the post said its a white smoking that comes from under my hood after about 5 mins or so of driving. so i took it to a mechanic yesterday and he said it might be that i need to change the oil so he did. then it went away for about 20 mins then started up again...does anyone kno what this could be. i hope its nothing serious because im a student with very little dispensable cash

SouthernBoy 10-25-2009 06:21 PM

Oil generally emits a light blue smoke when coming from the engine. But you said behind your engine which sounds more like it's coming from the exhaust system (main cat perhaps). While tends to indicate coolant. I'm not sure what the power steering fluid color would be when burning. Do you notice an odor?

KzooTL 10-25-2009 06:32 PM

Had the powersteering hose recall done?

When its smoking pop the hood and see where its coming from.

bdown62007 10-25-2009 06:43 PM

the mechanic said it smelled like out. and its a light white color. i havent had the recall done i believe. and when i popped the hood it was coming from behind the engine on the passengers side

Opel 10-25-2009 07:50 PM

Originally Posted by bdown62007 (Post 11435145)
the mechanic said it smelled like out. and its a light white color. i havent had the recall done i believe. and when i popped the hood it was coming from behind the engine on the passengers side

what kinda fucking mechanic can't look and find out where smoke is coming from? i mean damn....thats like saying "i think smoke's coming from the fire"