1999 Acura TL Check engine light and TCS light comes on at the same time....?? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendorsGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Notices

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2007, 11:30 PM   #1
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
1999 Acura TL Check engine light and TCS light comes on at the same time....??

Ive been trying to figure this out for the longest time. It happens every now and than after reset but the odd thing is that when the Check Engine light comes on it triggers the TCS light as well. After restart the Check engine light stays on but the TCS goes away.

Error codes Im getting are Cylinder 1, 2, 3, 4 mis-fire and multi mis-fire codes. Has anyone encountered similiar problems like this and what is the problem?

Thanks,
Johnny
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 1:00 AM   #2
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Does anyone know where I can buy the Acura Service Manual that the dealers use? The Bentley Publisher books are not that bad but I dont believe they make them for the Acura TL can anyone confirm? Also I may be considering changing out the coil packs does anyone know where the best places are to purchase them?
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 6:11 AM   #3
acuratech25
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 34
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
it is more than likely a coil pack just keep disconnecting them one at a time untill you don't notice a change in engine idle
acuratech25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 9:36 PM   #4
geoffery
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Age: 30
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have experienced this problem couple months ago. My misfiring was causing by my back oxgen sensor, and one of my coil. Therefore, they have to replace my oxgen sensor at the back, and one of the coil, I paid around CAD80 for the coil, and CAD240 for the sensor. It was about 1 and a half hour job.
geoffery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 10:20 PM   #5
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Okay I reseted everything thing this morning and waited till the next time it came on. As soon as it came on I pulled over and read the codes. This is what came up:

P0401: Exhaust Gas Recirculation flow Insufficient detected
P0304: Cylinder 4 Mis-fire
P0305: Cylinder 5 Mis-fire
P0300: Random Mis-fire
P1399: Random Mis-fire


Does anyone know what the hell Exhaust Gas Recirculation flow is exactly? And where exactly are Cylinder 4 & 5 on the engine?
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 10:28 PM   #6
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Duh long day at work today....I know what the EGR is. Does anyone know a reputable place to buy one of the modified/Updated EGR kits?

Also should I change the Coil Packs or should I change and clean the EGR first to see if that solves the problem?

Thanks again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny14
Okay I reseted everything thing this morning and waited till the next time it came on. As soon as it came on I pulled over and read the codes. This is what came up:

P0401: Exhaust Gas Recirculation flow Insufficient detected
P0304: Cylinder 4 Mis-fire
P0305: Cylinder 5 Mis-fire
P0300: Random Mis-fire
P1399: Random Mis-fire


Does anyone know what the hell Exhaust Gas Recirculation flow is exactly? And where exactly are Cylinder 4 & 5 on the engine?
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 6:06 AM   #7
acuratech25
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 34
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do the egr first it will cause the misfire
acuratech25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 8:11 AM   #8
Anachostic
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Anachostic's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,419
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Points: 8,569, Level: 62
Points: 8,569, Level: 62 Points: 8,569, Level: 62 Points: 8,569, Level: 62
Activity: 4.1%
Activity: 4.1% Activity: 4.1% Activity: 4.1%
I had that happen in my 03 TL. I had a misfire code on one cylinder. The dealer did change the EGR valve, which then triggered misfire codes on all cylinders. The dealer was about to change all the fuel injectors, but my warranty company insisted that the plentum (plenum?) be removed to look for carbon. Of course, I had to pay for that diagnostic, but the results were just excess carbon buildup. So no new fuel injectors and no misfires after cleaning.

I have heard miracles have been performed by Seafoam, which could be cheap solution to your misfire problem.
Anachostic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 11:29 PM   #9
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Thanks for all the responses. I ended up picking up EGR update Kit. Its stupid because you figure its a kit so it would come with the tools to get the job done. But no the Dealer wants to ream you for everything so the damn tool kit alone was $80 + shipping wtf? Its a damn drill bit and a install pin for the sleeve. Talk about a rip off. Anyways I bought a drill bit from the hardware store and will be using that as the drill and return there damn tool kit.

Ill be doing the install this weekend and hopefully that will clear my check engine lights for good. I may consider doing the Seafoam after I clean the intake manifold to clean the rest of the engine out.

Ill keep you all posted on everything this weekend or beginning next week. Thanks again for all responses.

J
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 9:53 PM   #10
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Curious....Does anyone have the Honda Took Kit to do the EGR update which includes the Special Drill Bit and Installation tool? I was just wonder would be good to have just in case as a back up. Someone locally would be great so we can meet up and I can use it while your there so you can be sure you are getting the tool back. I live in Brentwood CA (Eastbay)

Coffee will be on me!
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 10:56 PM   #11
BLK 3.2
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had the same thing happen to me. The TCS and the engine light came on at the same time but after i turned the car off and on again the TCS turned off but the Engine light remained. After i scaned it with the OBD2 scanner the code i got was P0740.
BLK 3.2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 11:58 PM   #12
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
P0740 is an error code for your Transmission. Its a TCC Circuit Malfunction code. I think our cars once a check engine light triggers it automatically trips the TCS light. And like you said once you turn off and turn it back on the TCS light disappears but the check engine light stays on. I dont know what the fix on that is sorry. I believe you may be lucky enough to just change out the Tranny chip but dont quote me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK 3.2
I had the same thing happen to me. The TCS and the engine light came on at the same time but after i turned the car off and on again the TCS turned off but the Engine light remained. After i scaned it with the OBD2 scanner the code i got was P0740.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 11:01 PM   #13
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Alright I just wanted to let you all know it was a success without using the damn $80 tool kit Honda and Acura tries to rape you on so Ill be returning that Monday. I got everything drilled and with ease the tube went in and tapped it in with a mallet to sit flush. Now all I have to do is get the manifold cleaned and change the EGR and Im good to go.

The Intake manifold had alot of build up of oil which I think could be because of my PCV Valve so I ended up replacing that and the EGR port was pretty much plugged up with build up. Its pretty hard stuff!! Im hoping this will cure all the check engine lights Ive seem to be getting but will see.

I should have everything up and running by tomorrow around noon and will be taking the car out for a few errands I have to run so Ill keep you all posted.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 9:22 PM   #14
Luke7
WNC Real Estate Sales99TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
Luke7's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Asheville NC
Age: 44
Posts: 678
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Points: 7,568, Level: 58
Points: 7,568, Level: 58 Points: 7,568, Level: 58 Points: 7,568, Level: 58
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny14
Thanks for all the responses. I ended up picking up EGR update Kit. Its stupid because you figure its a kit so it would come with the tools to get the job done. But no the Dealer wants to ream you for everything so the damn tool kit alone was $80 + shipping wtf? Its a damn drill bit and a install pin for the sleeve. Talk about a rip off. Anyways I bought a drill bit from the hardware store and will be using that as the drill and return there damn tool kit.

Ill be doing the install this weekend and hopefully that will clear my check engine lights for good. I may consider doing the Seafoam after I clean the intake manifold to clean the rest of the engine out.

Ill keep you all posted on everything this weekend or beginning next week. Thanks again for all responses.

J
I did mine (EGR Port Clean Out) awhile back and decided not to use use the kit. Figured that I would just clean it again after 50,000 miles or so.
Luke7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 8:38 PM   #15
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
With the high mileage that the car has I figured I buy the EGR Kit as its cheaper than buying the EGR alone so I figure what the hell and figure I change it anyways. Dont think the EGR was bad but never hurts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7
I did mine (EGR Port Clean Out) awhile back and decided not to use use the kit. Figured that I would just clean it again after 50,000 miles or so.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 8:52 PM   #16
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Alright I have a question for regarding our cylinder order on the spark plugs??? Can someone tell me the order of the spark plugs by cylinder? I tried doing a search on it but couldnt find it.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 3:43 AM   #17
bcatuna
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mess with your IAT sensor
bcatuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 10:25 PM   #18
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
We have a IAT Sensor on our cars? Isnt that pretty much like a MAF which I still dont think our cars have this either so Im a little confused!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcatuna
mess with your IAT sensor
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 2:08 AM   #19
bcatuna
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ya, if you take off your engine cap, it will be right next to your intake. it will be the grey connector with 2 wires, i think red and green
bcatuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 2:45 PM   #20
BlackCrow1515
Turtle for a TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
BlackCrow1515's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cropwell, Alabama, USA
Age: 26
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,238, Level: 41
Points: 4,238, Level: 41 Points: 4,238, Level: 41 Points: 4,238, Level: 41
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Whoa whoa whoa.

I had this problem not too long ago. And it was bad. Gas was being guzzled, the whole car shook during acceleration, and it would barely hold 70 MPH. I ended up having to have two shock coils replaced. As for the insufficient exhaust flow, that would be your catalytic converter. I gutted mine out. 30 minutes of your time and that problem is fixed. I know it's illegal, but I didn't want to pay for one.

If this problem is left untreated, who knows what problems may arise.
BlackCrow1515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 5:16 PM   #21
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
I dont think its my shocks or anything related to suspension. Its either my coil packs or from what a Acura Tech told me it could be that I need a Valve adjustment!! Valve adjustment??? Would that really cause me to mis-fire? I dont think so.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackCrow1515
I had this problem not too long ago. And it was bad. Gas was being guzzled, the whole car shook during acceleration, and it would barely hold 70 MPH. I ended up having to have two shock coils replaced. As for the insufficient exhaust flow, that would be your catalytic converter. I gutted mine out. 30 minutes of your time and that problem is fixed. I know it's illegal, but I didn't want to pay for one.

If this problem is left untreated, who knows what problems may arise.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 5:21 PM   #22
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
I took everything off today and was trying to find what your talking about. I just unclipped and clipped everything back on. Ill double check to see what your talking about Ill look for those wires.

I ended up picking up 6 Brand new coil packs but havent installed them yet I decided to play with the Original coil packs and just swapped them around to see what are the next codes I get to start the elimination process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcatuna
ya, if you take off your engine cap, it will be right next to your intake. it will be the grey connector with 2 wires, i think red and green
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 1:43 AM   #23
BlackCrow1515
Turtle for a TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
BlackCrow1515's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cropwell, Alabama, USA
Age: 26
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,238, Level: 41
Points: 4,238, Level: 41 Points: 4,238, Level: 41 Points: 4,238, Level: 41
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny14
I dont think its my shocks or anything related to suspension. Its either my coil packs or from what a Acura Tech told me it could be that I need a Valve adjustment!! Valve adjustment??? Would that really cause me to mis-fire? I dont think so.
Coil pack, shock coil... I've heard different terms.
BlackCrow1515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 1:59 AM   #24
johnny14
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63 Points: 8,839, Level: 63
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Oh okay than yeah I ended up picking up 6 New Factory Coil Packs but waiting to see if I get anymore codes and see which Cylinder mis-fires Im getting since I mixed them up a bit to double check and see if that was the problems. Since I did that I should get two good ones which were 1 and 6 and now if I get them it should be different cylinders. So will see what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackCrow1515
Coil pack, shock coil... I've heard different terms.
johnny14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:04 AM   #25
qkpeng
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 47
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a 99 TL with 98k miles. Recently have CE and TCS light on. CE code is P0401 -- EGR flow insufficient. NJ Acura dealer charge $200 - $267 for EGR parts only. Pep Boys sells for $90 OEM EGR. EGR is located near Intake Manifold, tied with two 12mm bolt with one electrical connection, very easy to take off (you don't need $80 EGR tool kit). Based on the service manual I bought with $70, I cleaned the old EGR and the EGR connection to intake manifold (it had a lot of build up gums) with carborator cleaner (used $3.80). Now the car feels much better when driving on the road. I didn't even replace the EGR yet. I'll keep you updated later, if anything new came up.
qkpeng is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to qkpeng For This Useful Post:
Fahruz Zaman (10-10-2013)
Old 12-21-2010, 11:45 AM   #26
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
welcome to the forum--this is a 4 year dead thread thread, you can find a current one on the main thread title list

See the DIY on EGR port cleaning- you need to remove the intake manifold to clean right
the valve rarely fails but the system clogs and the arm on the valve needs some lube
http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=615644
ignore the part where they change bolt studs to install the spacer--you are just doing the cleaning part of the diy
__________________
at the end of your life,,it was all just stuff, so enjoy great toys!!

you can screw around asking buddies,
or you can believe acurazine- where info is based on thousands of users reports!
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 7:54 PM   #27
terica sumner
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2011
Age: 34
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 777, Level: 14
Points: 777, Level: 14 Points: 777, Level: 14 Points: 777, Level: 14
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
my coil pack isn't receiving any power from the wiring. how can i fix this problem...
terica sumner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 7:59 PM   #28
terica sumner
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2011
Age: 34
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 777, Level: 14
Points: 777, Level: 14 Points: 777, Level: 14 Points: 777, Level: 14
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
i am having problems with my wiring harness that goes to the coil pack that is not firing has anyone encountered this problem.
terica sumner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 7:45 PM   #29
aorden
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 1,608, Level: 23
Points: 1,608, Level: 23 Points: 1,608, Level: 23 Points: 1,608, Level: 23
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
1. First beg borrow or steal the SnapOn computer diagnostic tool and plug it in.It costs 4 grand..so I dont think you want to buy it.... Then read the codes
2. Chances are your EGR systems is f'd up. ..see my posts regarding how to fix this. Do not simply change the EGR valve..this is a complete waste of time and money. Honda put out a service notification to dealers on this...if your dealer is telling you to change the EGR valve..then don't go back to them..ever.
3. Regarding your post below on how to get the service manual..its available direct from Honda USA. Their manual are always excellent and worth every penny.
aorden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 3:20 PM   #30
Bearnut
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,860, Level: 25
Points: 1,860, Level: 25 Points: 1,860, Level: 25 Points: 1,860, Level: 25
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by acuratech25 View Post
it is more than likely a coil pack just keep disconnecting them one at a time untill you don't notice a change in engine idle
Just got done using this troubleshooting method on the wife's 2000 TL. Found the bad coil in literally a minute. Thanks, acuratech.
Bearnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 3:20 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1999, 32, 99, acura, check, clogged, codes, egr, engine, light, obd2, p1399, port, tcs, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup