Radio out, car won't shift out of park - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendorsGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Notices

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2010, 7:55 PM   #1
thaprinze
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thaprinze's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 33
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Exclamation Radio out, car won't shift out of park

Hey guys,

I've searched for this problem for a while now, and I found one other person with a similar problem, but s/he didn't provide a fix.

This weekend I turned on my car, but it wouldn't let me shift out of park. Normally you hear a click when you push the brake down, but this didn't give me anything. I also noticed that my radio wouldn't turn on either, but the Anti Theft light on it was on, even though the car was on. I pushed the eject button, and sure enough, the cd popped right out, so it is getting power. I checked the fuses, and replaced a blown ACC Relay on the driver's side, but I still have the same issues. Does anyone know what I should check/try next?

I don't think this is a brake sensor thing, because as I said, the brake lights turn on, and the deck is acting like the security system is still active. I'm not sure if there's something wrong with the security system that allows the car to turn on, but won't let you turn on the radio or change gears.

Also, I'm worried about trying to override the gear to neutral, turn it on, then try to shift gears to get it to a mechanic. I'm afraid of a bunch of wild scenarios running through my head.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
thaprinze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 7:58 PM   #2
thaprinze
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thaprinze's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 33
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Crap... I just checked outside of the Problems & Fixes section and it looks like someone already asked this question a couple months ago & there is no solution.

Mods, feel free to delete this post. Thanks...
thaprinze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 6:00 AM   #3
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
first- its no prob to do the nuetral override- put the car key in the slot to right of shifter
push down key- press brakes and shift into N
Hold brakes on- move key to ignition and start car
All shifting is now normal- when you next stop the car and turn key off- it will require the N override again

If even 1 brake light bulb is out it can cause this- ck all including center light
Next is loose sender for brakelights at the pedal -it happens- get under there and look-
one sensor for brake light the other is cruise control disconnect

If the battery is weak it causes many problems - parts stores wil test the system for free
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 6:01 AM   #4
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
what do you have added to the acc relay?
what caused its failure- thats not normal and may point to a short in the system~
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 1:34 PM   #5
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 74,436
Thanks: 432
Thanked 1,561 Times in 1,169 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Activity: 58.1%
Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1%
Check the fuses on the Passenger side fuse panel (thats where the radio and brake fuses are). Also make sure there isnt a Dime in the cig lighter socket.
fsttyms1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:01 PM   #6
eg5
user title goes here
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (4)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: texas
Posts: 323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 3,344, Level: 35
Points: 3,344, Level: 35 Points: 3,344, Level: 35 Points: 3,344, Level: 35
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsttyms1 View Post
Check the fuses on the Passenger side fuse panel (thats where the radio and brake fuses are). Also make sure there isnt a Dime in the cig lighter socket.
...lol.speaking from experience?
eg5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 1:47 PM   #7
jdjohn84
2003 TL-S w/Navi NBP
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 47
Posts: 714
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 5,168, Level: 46
Points: 5,168, Level: 46 Points: 5,168, Level: 46 Points: 5,168, Level: 46
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Check to see if the relay has blown a second time. If it has, there is obviously still a problem somewhere in that circuit. Fuses and relays don't normally just wear-out, so simply replacing them may not do any good.
jdjohn84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 6:16 PM   #8
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 74,436
Thanks: 432
Thanked 1,561 Times in 1,169 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Activity: 58.1%
Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg5 View Post
...lol.speaking from experience?
No, but MANY others here have had that problem.
fsttyms1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 8:08 PM   #9
Da NeW sLim2
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
havin same issue .. im def having to use shift lock to get in gear
Da NeW sLim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 9:49 PM   #10
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 74,436
Thanks: 432
Thanked 1,561 Times in 1,169 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100 Points: 97,061, Level: 100
Activity: 58.1%
Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1% Activity: 58.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da NeW sLim2 View Post
havin same issue .. im def having to use shift lock to get in gear
Your radio is out too, or you just have to use the shift lock to get it into gear?
fsttyms1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 8:27 PM   #11
thaprinze
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thaprinze's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 33
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38 Points: 3,774, Level: 38
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Funny story... Here's how absent minded I am! Today I was driving home when all of a sudden my radio & phone charger both go out. Then when I stop to get gas, I can't shift up passed Neutral & can't get my keys out of the car.

Long story short, I start googling my issues & I'm lead to this thread... WHICH I STARTED!!!

Anyway, I never wrote back with the resolution the first time, but it's the Accessory Relay fuse, which can be found in the fuse box on the driver side.
thaprinze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 9:34 PM   #12
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
azine to the rescue once again!!
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 10:49 PM   #13
sypher2020
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 198, Level: 3
Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I have this issue, however, my radio and shifter usually work; I only have a problem once a week. I knock on the left-side of the radio and the power comes back and I can shift. The bulb to the driver's seat heater burnt out as well when this problem showed up. I doubt a fuse or relay is the culprit because the issue comes and goes. I am going to take the console apart and probe around for chaffed/bent wiring harness (es) etc...
sypher2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 10:49 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
06, acura, anti, breaks, car, cl, gears, park, press, radio, shift, slot, theft, tl, wont

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup