very slight but definite thudding sound when braking - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendorsGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Notices

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2010, 6:23 PM   #1
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
very slight but definite thudding sound when braking

I am hearing this slight thudding sound from foot compartment area when I press OR release the brake pedal at very slow speed. I am actually not quite sure sound is coming due to (braking or releasing the pedal) OR (due to stop or start moving). Can anyone give me a hint? Thanks!
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 7:13 PM   #2
ANC297
Bonki' Ehrite!
2002 Acura TL
 
ANC297's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boca Raton Fl, Mooresville NC
Age: 21
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 39
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Points: 10,576, Level: 68
Points: 10,576, Level: 68 Points: 10,576, Level: 68 Points: 10,576, Level: 68
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Please explain very slow speed...b.c if you let off the pedal very slightly when idling in drive or reverse, and I mean VERY slightly, the brakes will start to slip, but not completely...which makes a slight thudding sound...If thats what you are talking about, either get on the pedal, or get off it. l0l...
__________________
2002 WDP Tl-S.
Don't do the crime if you can't do the time.. But I'm still rollin so that's a fucked up slogan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarlacc View Post
I think the OP's pacifier fell out...anyone seen it? Its shaped like a penis and attached to a 6ft tall man.
ANC297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:10 PM   #3
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
lets get your overall shake issue resolved as that may be involved
or did I miss something recent on your prob?

Ck the brake calipers for correct torque and movement
ck the brake bracket mount torque
ck sway bar end links-
look at everything in the area
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:08 PM   #4
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
i made more observation today, and it is definitely related to brake pedal being depressed or lifted. It has got nothing to do with stopping or moving so i believe it is not related to rotors or brake pads. May be some brake pedal parts.
I have heard similar noise but much more audible in the past when i test drove lemon cars at wholesale dealerships .
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 3:11 PM   #5
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
took it to dealership today for diagnosis, they said it is brake shims and they said to replace all 4.
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 6:37 PM   #6
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
what rotors and pads are you using?
a recent install?
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 2:17 AM   #7
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
just a regular stock ones.
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 3:14 AM   #8
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
at last brake job, did you transfer the pad shims to the new pads?
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 4:23 PM   #9
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01tl4tl View Post
at last brake job, did you transfer the pad shims to the new pads?
i know i have replaced the brake pads around 30,000 miles ago, with 5k of them freeway coast-to-coast trip. I am also pretty sure they resurfaced the rotors (i have to look in the record and get back to you). But for shims not sure, i would also need to look at the record too.
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 7:39 PM   #10
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
the dealer did the last brake job?
and now they say it needs shims--shims they should have transferred over if not
included on the new pads
You pay for them to do things right, especially at the dealer

If thats the case- show the paperwork to the service MANAGER and they will find shims to throw on for free--honda makes a kit with new ones

the oe pads do use shims- sometimes 2 or 3 on a pad! could be wear has left enough room for thudding
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 8:15 PM   #11
FirePR2002
bringin lead
2002 Acura TL
 
FirePR2002's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,795
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Points: 16,944, Level: 83
Points: 16,944, Level: 83 Points: 16,944, Level: 83 Points: 16,944, Level: 83
Activity: 3.6%
Activity: 3.6% Activity: 3.6% Activity: 3.6%
are you sure the pads are the correct size?
FirePR2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 12:12 AM   #12
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
I know of a TL with Legend calipers- where the dealer insisted it needed Legend pads and even installed them!!- went for a drive, came back and put TL pads back on it
they dont fit the same!!!

but
the OP has an ongoing prob with a front end noise and shake,,so picking the brake prob out of all the possibles...did one cause the other..

did they let a jr tech do the job- and forgot to move shims to new pads?
Most aftermarket come with their own, a few dont use them at all

its easy to pop the calipers off- ck the pads and add shim kit if needed

Last edited by 01tl4tl; 09-06-2010 at 12:14 AM.
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 2:57 AM   #13
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Well I checked the service records they don't show if shims are replaced or not. All it says is brake bad replacement rotor resurface.
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 3:35 AM   #14
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
the shims either came with the new pads or they were to be transferred
You dont write it seperate on the invoice, its part of the pad job

If the dealer did the brake work last time- whatever it needs now-- is on them.
Speak directly with the Service manager!
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 10:00 AM   #15
guyenacurazine
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 302
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53 Points: 6,593, Level: 53
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
oh man i have it done in seattle over a year ago, now i am in austin far far away. But may be I should contact them just in case and explain the situation, who knows what perk they will give )...
guyenacurazine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:59 AM   #16
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,547
Thanks: 312
Thanked 677 Times in 635 Posts
Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100 Points: 39,387, Level: 100
Activity: 2.3%
Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3% Activity: 2.3%
a free oil change next time you are back there

are you talking with a service WRITER- who often doesnt know squat but can make stuff up on the fly
Or the actual tech and the service MANAGER--

will the manager GUARANTEE the shim kit from acura will solve the problem or no charge for the entire job?
or are they hoping thats the prob because tech didnt do a real inspection with the dial calipers and cking every aspect
ALL techs may overtighten the bolts, screwing up operation of the brakes
Need to ck the exact current torque and reset as needed

Ive seen plenty of cars with 40 pound torque spec,, set at 130--because thats what an air gun on high setting will blast them too!!!
that will rip the threads out of a caliper bracket no problem~
lazy or uneducated people working on cars...scary
__________________
at the end of your life,,it was all just stuff, so enjoy great toys!!

you can screw around asking buddies,
or you can believe acurazine- where info is based on thousands of users reports!
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:59 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
99, acura, acurazine, brake, brakes, braking, breaking, breaks, hear, low, makes, noise, rdx, reverse, slow, sound, thudding, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup