The Bottom Line - Do Performance Chips Work? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Fourth Generation TL (2009-2014) > Performance Parts & Modifications
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendorsGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Notices

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2011, 2:27 PM   #1
No_Secrets
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Bottom Line - Do Performance Chips Work?

Guys,

I have a 2011 TL with the 3.7 motor and I want a little more power. I have been doing a lot of research on Performance Chips.

I have concluded that there really is only one company I would go with.
http://www.engineperformancechip.com/

Now I am not 100% sure it will work, however, for the $150 I am prepared to try it. It looks like the X3 chip with the O2 sensor control is the way to go.

X3 Performance Chip with O2 Sensor Control - $150
Power Performance Chip X2 - $69

It would appear based on older posts that the Performance chips don't work on our cars, however, I will challenge someone to show me proof? Maybe the performance chips work on newer Acura's? I have yet to find anyone on the web that has had success so I am skeptical, believe me.

If anyone can shed some light on this I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
J.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
No_Secrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 2:37 PM   #2
justnspace
2006 Acura TL
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 27
Posts: 44,990
Thanks: 9,516
Thanked 7,082 Times in 5,099 Posts
Points: 35,111, Level: 100
Points: 35,111, Level: 100 Points: 35,111, Level: 100 Points: 35,111, Level: 100
Activity: 100.0%
Activity: 100.0% Activity: 100.0% Activity: 100.0%
fake. dont do it.

there is absolutely no way to tune these v6 motors.
we do have a new ECU available for the 3rd gen TL, that can be ported over to the 4th GEN.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KN_TL View Post
I've gotten some information on the upcoming ECU product.

It is based on the MegaSquirt3 ECU modified to interface with the 3G TL ECU.

MS3 info is here http://www.ms3efi.com/product.html

Here are some things you can control (Items are hyperlinked)

This also means that the tuning can be performed using MS compatible software. The current software being used is TunerStudio. It can be downloaded for free and also has a register option. More information is available here:

http://www.efianalytics.com/TunerStudio/

One HUGE feature is VE Analyze Live. Read about it here:

http://www.efianalytics.com/TunerStudio/#veAnalyze

Some questions and answers so far:

Q. Will the stock ECU be retained ?
A. Yes, this insures that all factory features are not lost

Q. If the factory ECU is still in place, are you simply intercepting the signals?
A. No, the FACTORY ECU has no control over engine parameters.

Q. Will this be a Plug and Play install or do I need to custom wire?
A. This solution will be Plug and Play with a pre-wired harness included.

Q. Are Base Maps Included?
A. Base maps will be available based on the application.

Q. What is VE Analyzer ?
A. A tuning tool that tunes while you drive! See http://www.efianalytics.com/TunerStudio/#veAnalyze for more information.

Q. Is drive by wire retained?
A. Yes along with all other luxury features handled by the stock ECU.

More info, Email - tl20046speed@yahoo.com

Your "CHIP" only claims horsepower increase. where as this new ECU, you can control all those parameters I quoted above.

also, your "CHIP" says it works for 1996 to 2012. You do know that there are different Engine chassis codes? How does the "CHIP" know which car it is. oh, its one of those "all purpose chips"

The New ECU that is available is pricey at $1400, but is able to dyno tune our cars and able to control all of the parameters quoted above.
We have several Turbo members who are using this new ecu. they've obtained goals of 500HP.
We've always had trouble tuning our cars, as there are no chips available. Now this ECU is a major game changer and will allow J32a3 swaps into civics and such, and allow typical "hot rod" mods for our cars, including changing out the Cam to a more aggressive one.
justnspace is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to justnspace For This Useful Post:
Thamac15 (11-02-2011)
Old 06-25-2011, 3:03 PM   #3
justnspace
2006 Acura TL
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 27
Posts: 44,990
Thanks: 9,516
Thanked 7,082 Times in 5,099 Posts
Points: 35,111, Level: 100
Points: 35,111, Level: 100 Points: 35,111, Level: 100 Points: 35,111, Level: 100
Activity: 100.0%
Activity: 100.0% Activity: 100.0% Activity: 100.0%
Also, what the 2nd gen community found was that the these chips that did change the air/fuel ratio, our stock ECU would overwrite these values making the chip null.

Same as the third Gen TL, the guys with the Comptech Supercharger are having problems with tuning. As our ECU's just flash back to stock, or the AFR Reverts back to a normal rate.

COntact J&R as they are interested in a 4th gen TL test subject.
http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=819261

Here's J&R's site.
http://jandrnextlevelperformance.com/
justnspace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 3:03 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2011, acura, chip, chips, cl, control, ecu, o2, performance, power, price, sensor, tl, tuning, work, x3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup