Disappointed with ELS vs pre-2004 Bose Factory

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2011, 09:49 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Disappointed with ELS vs pre-2004 Bose Factory

I just bought a like-new 2008 TL Type-S. I love it, with the glaring exception that I just spent the better part of $2000 replacing the absolutely awful factory speakers and subwoofer and installing an amp. I was shocked to see that the stock speakers and subwoofer were made of cardboard and weighed approximately the same as an egg carton.

I am a very loyal Acura driver, but Acura should be ashamed of themselves for putting that sorry excuse of a sound system in a car that cost well over $40K new.

Anyone else had issues and replaced all or parts of the stereo?
Old 07-26-2011, 12:20 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 120 Likes on 93 Posts
Bose isn't exactly something to brag about either. I think I'm more annoyed by the non-DIN HU slot than the quality of the system. Its "fine" for the average buyer. Its pretty much a given that you'll be pulling out stock stuff if you care about audio. Making it difficult or impossible to replace stuff really sucks.

There are a ton of people who have replaced the speakers/amp. Not many with a replacement HU.
Old 07-26-2011, 08:20 AM
9th Gear

I'm not saying the Bose factory radio would be on par with a high-end aftermarket stereo, but it was head and shoulders above the ELS. I'm no audiophile, and I wasn't out to get a stereo that would rattle people's windows when I drive by or anything, but I did want something that sounded crisp and rich, with good high and low sound. Not the case at all with the ELS.
Old 07-28-2011, 11:10 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I also am unimpressed with the TL's speakers. It sounds no better than the stock system in my friend's Sunfire. I would expect more from a luxury car.
Old 07-28-2011, 11:20 PM
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by jkuzmick